FOOD, FACTS and FADS

Exploring the sense and nonsense of food and health

My Tomatoes

2 Comments

We planted grape tomatoes on the deck this year and have more than enough to feed the whole community we live in.   The above picture were the first ones harvested and my first experiment with food photography.  A little trite, I guess, but that was the best I could do with absolutely no experience in this field or photography for that matter.

I have avoided doing any recipes on this blog due to the fact that I really don’t like to cook much. But with all the tomatoes,  I had to find a way to use them and found this basic recipe and added my own ingredients.  So here goes – this will be my first and last recipe on this blog – so enjoy?

Roasted Grape Tomato Sauce

  1. Gather as many grape tomatoes as you want – depending on how much sauce you want – I have experimented with the amount and for two people, I use about 24 grape tomatoes.
  2. Slice them in half and put on a baking pan – lined with foil
  3. Add some olive oil and turn the tomatoes to coat them.
  4. You can add some garlic cloves or onion slices, but the onion slices kind of burned.
  5. Put into a 400-degree oven for about 35-40 minutes.
  6. After roasting, put into a saucepan and add 1 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes, 1 t. white wine vinegar, 1 T. sugar, salt, and pepper, and some herbs of your choice.
  7. I added fresh basil and parsley (also grown on deck). But you could add oregano,  or Italian seasoning.
  8. Semi puree with a hand stick blender or pulse a few times in a food processor.
  9. Heat together for a while, and then serve over any type of pasta.  You can add cooked Italian sausage if you want.

This makes enough for 2 -3 people.  It is a great fresh sauce and in my opinion beats any jarred sauce.

Enhanced by Zemanta

2 thoughts on “My Tomatoes

  1. Pingback: Saving your small Tomatoes | Chef's KitchenChef's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Saving your Cherry Tomatoes or Grape Tomatoes « Foodsaving.com's Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.